A Mama’s Promise

Standard

A Mama’s Promise

For my Nevada Angel.

 

I kept you within till you journeyed earthside, then held you, smelled you and squeezed you with pride.

So perfectly formed, so special and small and what I was doing I didn’t know at all.

Looking back I can see how much we’ve both grown, these fourteen months have really flown.

I’ve been your mama and I’ve learned how, to be, when you needed me, in the here and now.

 

And I’ve fed you baby, at my breast

and carried you close against my chest.

 

You’ve taught me patience and given me strength. I didn’t think I could do it but we’ve gotten this length.

Look at you now with your pink shoes on, running this way and that from the break of dawn.

So quick to tears, so quick to laugh, you’ll lead anyone willing up the garden path!

I’ve watched proudly as you’ve mastered each new skill, kissed away your tears after each stumble and spill.

 

And I’ve fed you baby, at my breast

and carried you warm against my chest.

 

Each moment you nurse now, sprawled in my lap, my love flows with my milk, unconditional, on tap.

Your eyes gaze up, trusting completely.  A smile creeps across and milk dribbles discretely.

I’ll be your mama, even when you are grown and from this sweet, safe nest you’ll have up and flown.

But for so long as you choose, I’ll be right here, with arms and heart open so you needn’t fear…

 

…cos I’ll feed you baby, at my breast

and carry you wrapped against my chest.

9 responses »

  1. Oh Grainne, I’ve tears in my eyes! Such a beautiful little tribute to your wee woman…as I was reading it I was almost singing it because of the wee refrain. So touching, from the heart – love it 🙂

  2. Oh grianne this is stunningb ur so passionate and i feel its a privilage to call u my friend :D’ **janine xxx

Leave a Reply

