I Carry You Always

Standard

I Carry You Always.

A poem for European Babywearing Week 2017
~

New life in my belly, I carried you inside.

Birthed into my arms and from first you cried,

I wrapped you softly in cloth tied around,

Placed gently where you’d still hear my heart’s sound.

~

While cushy fabric held us skin to skin,

I fell in love and I breathed you in.

Happiness; smelling your head on my chest.

I was your world as you nursed at my breast.

~

I carried you as you explored and learned,

At exploits end, to my arms you returned.

I carried you safe and close as you grew,

Learned to walk, to run and before I knew,

I’d carried you to a new phase, new zone.

Watched you stride into a life of your own.

~

What once woven threads held bound together,

Now bonds of love form an unseen tether,

Keeping us connected when we’re apart,

‘COS…  I carry you always…  in my heart.

~

2017-02-14 21.13.23

Leave a Reply

